setting boundaries with a roomie

OK, so I’m feeling just the teensiest bit exploited right now (mind you, I’m very sensitive to these things) My landlady of less than one week is displaying some behaviours I am going to have to deal with, sooner or later. And this is the kind of thing where sooner is better.

To wit: My Landlady likes to keep the toilet seat cover down and the shower curtain open. I prefer the other way around: The curtain needs to dry out between showers, and I don’t like to bend to lift the lid, or even touch it. When she got home after my first day, she went right into the bathroom and opened the shower curtain! I mean, that’s kind of a my way or the highway statement, right?

Over the weekeknd, she wasn’t home and the sugar bowl ran out. I didn’t know where the sugar was, so I bought more. The sugar in the bowl was ‘raw sugar’ I bought regular white sugar (I thought ‘raw’ sugar was just white sugar with molasses added) anyway, when she got back, she emptied out my sugar into a container and refilled the sugar bowl with her sugar. OK, that’s not so bad, but today was.

She put some clothes into the washer and said “I have some underwear and light things to be washed, do you have any?”  I don’t like to wash my underthings with anyone else’s  (not even my husband’s!) but I didn’t want to say that, so I said no, all I have is dark things. She said “Oh, Ok, I’ll throw my bluejeans in.” She then started the load, added her soap and stopped it. She said “I never use the dryer except in the winter, I hang things up or use the little dryer in the bathtub.” Oh, great. I had just appropriated the little dryer and put it in my closet to dry my towels.

That was my first thought. After she left, I thought about how she already put her soap in, so I can’t use my soap, or even take her things out, do mine and put hers back in. After the load was done, I took out the stuff and realized that she must want me to hang her things up! And there were several pairs of underwear! So, basically, she left me with no choice but to do her wash and hang it up! What am I, the house bitch?  What I did was throw the whole load into the dryer. She wrote to me that she had a washer and dryer at each house, not I have a dryer, but you can’t use it. I guess I’ll buy my own drying rack, give her hers back. I draw the line at doing my landlady’s underwear.

This entry was posted in Symbiosis. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

